• DE

Up There

Wael Kadour
​Cooperation between Collective Ma´louba and Theater an der Ruhr

Syria, early 1990s: In a women's prison, a group of political prisoners perform Henrik Ibsen's play "The Lady from the Sea" - an affront to the prison administration, which wants to stop the performance.

Today, 30 years later, a Syrian author living in exile is trying to write a play about this true event, but he is struggling with his task: What artistic or political value does his project have? Why should he tell the story of these women from his present position in exile? A way out of this creative crisis is finally revealed to him by a woman who saw the play when she was a young prison inmate. She begins to tell the author about what she saw and inspires him to find the women involved in the performance. With each of her tales, a new chapter in the story reveals itself....

We watch the exciting reconstruction of a memory: the author is Wael Kadour, two of the women who were on stage in the prison in 1991, Hend Alkahwaji and Wejdan Nassif, are now the players of their own story - after the Syrian Revolution and in exile in a distant country: speaking freely about what happened has now become possible.

 

In Arabic with German surtitles.

 

Text: Wael Kadour, Director: Mohamad Al Rashi and Wael Kadour, Stage: Jean Christophe Lanquetin, Sound: Khaled Kurbeh, Light: Toni Mersch, Video: Guevara Namer

With: Hala Bdier, Wejdan Nassif, Hend Alkahwaji und Wael Kadour.

Producer: Wael Kh. Salem, Producer-International: Eckhard Thiemann, Audience Development: Omar Mohamad, Production Assistant: Wisam Atfeh

 

 

Supported by: Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW and Ibsen scope, Ettijahat-Independent Culture, Culture Resource (Al-Mawred Al-Thaqafy)

 

After the performance on the evening of the premiere, we invite you to a Q&A session with the production's contributors.

Premiere

03. December 2022

Location

Theater an der Ruhr
Akazienallee 61
45478 Theater an der Ruhr

Dates
Sun 04.12. 18:00

• EN

Up There

Wael Kadour
Koproduktion von Collective Ma´louba und dem Theater an der Ruhr

Syrien, Anfang der 90er Jahre: In einem Frauengefängnis führt eine Gruppe politisch Gefangener das Theaterstück „Die Frau vom Meer“ von Henrik Ibsen auf - ein Affront gegen die Gefängnisverwaltung, die die Aufführung unterbinden will.

Ein syrischer, im Exil lebender Autor versucht heute, 30 Jahre später, ein Stück über diese wahre Begebenheit zu schreiben, doch er hadert mit seiner Aufgabe: Welchen künstlerischen oder politischen Wert hat sein Projekt? Warum sollte er die Geschichte dieser Frauen aus seiner heutigen Position im Exil heraus erzählen? Einen Ausweg aus dieser Schaffenskrise zeigt ihm schließlich eine Frau, die damals als junge Gefängnisinsassin das Stück gesehen hat. Sie beginnt, dem Autor von dem Gesehenen zu berichten und inspiriert ihn dazu, die an der Aufführung beteiligten Frauen zu finden. Mit jeder ihrer Erzählungen zeigt sich ein neues Kapitel der Geschichte...

Wir schauen der spannenden Rekonstruktion einer Erinnerung zu: Der Autor ist Wael Kadour, zwei der Frauen, die 1991 im Gefängnis auf der Bühne standen, Hend Alkahwaji und Wejdan Nassif, sind heute die Spielerinnen ihrer eigenen Geschichte – nach der Syrischen Revolution und im Exil in einem fernen Land: Das freie Sprechen über das Geschehene ist nun möglich geworden.

 

In arabischer Sprache mit deutschen Übertiteln.

 

Text: Wael Kadour, Inszenierung: Mohamad Al Rashi und Wael Kadour, Bühnenbild: Jean Christophe Lanquetin, Ton: Khaled Kurbeh, Licht: Toni Mersch, Video: Guevara Namer

Mit: Hala Bdier, Wejdan Nassif, Hend Alkahwaji und Wael Kadour.

Produzent: Wael Kh. Salem, Produzent-International: Eckhard Thiemann, Audience Development: Omar Mohamad, Produktionsassistent: Wisam Atfeh

 

Gefördert durch das Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW und Ibsen scope, Ettijahat-Independent Culture, Culture Resource (Al-Mawred Al-Thaqafy)

 

Am Premierenabend laden wir Sie im Anschluss an das Stück zu einem Gespräch mit den Mitwirkenden der Produktion ein. 

Premiere

03. Dezember 2022

Ort

Theater an der Ruhr
Akazienallee 61
45478 Mülheim an der Ruhr

Termine
So 04.12. 18:00