• DE

Germania. Römischer Komplex (UA)

Anagoor

The Italian collective Anagoor is one of Theater an der Ruhr's ongoing artistic collaborators. Their visually powerful, highly musical and internationally acclaimed works have been guests at Theater an der Ruhr several times. Following " Sokrates der Überlebende", "Germania.Römischer Komplex" is her second production at Theater an der Ruhr. Anagoor is, among other things, winner of the Silver Lion at the 46th Venice International Theatre Biennale.

The starting point of Germania.Römischer Komplex (UA) is Tacitus' ethnographic account "Germania", published at the end of the first century A.D. In his juxtaposition of the Roman Empire with, from his point of view, the stranger per se, the Germanic, Tacitus asserted an impermeable frontier, which to this day is a blueprint for the invention of the stranger. Not without reason, the text is said to be one of the most dangerous of our cultural circle.

Power wants to forget, the poet wants to remember. With texts by Durs Grünbein, Antonella Anedda, Frank Bidart and Tacitus in his luggage, Simone Derai goes back to the bone field of the Varus Battle. To the place where for him the mixed bones of the fallen Romans and Germanic tribes tell of the common destinies of those who then as now protect or cross national borders.

Actors in the video

Petra von der Beek
Dagmar Geppert
Klaus Herzog
Fabio Menéndez
Steffen Reuber
Gabriella Weber


Supported by the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia.

Premiere

05.02.2022

Duration

ca. 110 minutes

Location

Theater an der Ruhr
Akazienallee 61
45478 Theater an der Ruhr

Cast

Team

  • Simone Derai
  • Paola Barbon
    Dramaturgy
  • Patrizia Vercesi
    Dramaturgy
  • Marco Menegoni
    Co-Director
  • Mauro Martinuz
    Music & Sounddesign
  • Simone Derai
    Video director
  • Giulio Favotto
    Camera
  • Jochen Jahncke
    Light-Design
  • Svea Menne
    Assistant director

• EN

Germania. Römischer Komplex (UA)

Anagoor

Das italienische Kollektiv Anagoor gehört zu den kontinuierlichen künstlerischen Kollaborateuren des Theater an der Ruhr. Ihre bildgewaltigen, hochmusikalischen und international gefeierten Arbeiten waren mehrfach am Theater an der Ruhr zu Gast. Nach „Sokrates der Überlebende“ folgt mit "Germania.Römischer Komplex" ihre zweite Inszenierung am Theater an der Ruhr. Anagoor ist u.a. Gewinner des Silbernen Löwen der 46. Internationalen Theaterbiennale von Venedig.

Der Ausgangspunkt von Germania.Römischer Komplex (UA)  ist Tacitus’ ethnographischer Bericht „Germania“, erschienen Ende des ersten Jahrhunderts n. Chr. In seiner Gegenüberstellung des Römischen Reiches mit, aus seiner Sicht, dem Fremden per se, dem Germanen, behauptete Tacitus eine undurchlässige Grenze, die bis heute eine Blaupause für die Erfindung des Fremden ist. Nicht ohne Grund wird dem Text nachgesagt, einer der gefährlichsten unseres Kulturkreises zu sein.

Macht will vergessen, der Dichter will erinnern. Mit Texten von Durs Grünbein, Antonella Anedda, Frank Bidart und Tacitus im Gepäck begibt sich Simone Derai zurück zum Knochenfeld der Varusschlacht. An den Ort, an dem für ihn die gemischten Gebeine der gefallenen Römer und Germanen von den gemeinsamen Geschicken derer berichten, die damals wie heute Ländergrenzen schützen oder überschreiten.

Schauspieler im Video

Petra von der Beek
Dagmar Geppert
Klaus Herzog
Fabio Menéndez
Steffen Reuber
Gabriella Weber


Gefördert durch das Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW.
 

Premiere

05.02.2022

Dauer

ca. 110 Minuten

Ort

Theater an der Ruhr
Akazienallee 61
45478 Mülheim an der Ruhr

Besetzung

Team

  • Simone Derai
    Regie
  • Paola Barbon
    Dramaturgie
  • Patrizia Vercesi
    Dramaturgie
  • Marco Menegoni
    Regie Mitarbeit
  • Mauro Martinuz
    Musik & Sounddesign
  • Simone Derai
    Videoregie
  • Giulio Favotto
    Kamera
  • Jochen Jahncke
    Licht
  • Svea Menne
    Regieassistenz
Termine
Sa 04.06. 19:30